Skip to content

The Norwegian Girl and the Cigar Bar

July 18, 2011

Somehow last Friday night the Frugal Norwegian broke character and consented to go out with me, to, of all places, a wine/cigar bar.  I’m still trying to figure out how that little trip came to pass, since I’d really enjoy repeating it with her again.

I suspect that it had something to do with my finally getting around to taking a picture of the blooms on the wild flowers she and her grandson planted this spring, and maybe something to do with me gimping around waiting to see the knee surgeon; and her fondness for wine probably helped too.  But now that she’s seen the place I have doubts about her enthusiastically accompanying, let alone approving of me making another visit.  Especially since she found out what the cost of a cigar runs  in place where they hand you a cigar clipper with the wooden matches.  We’re not talking granddad’s William Penns here.   Nor was she overly impressed with the leather chairs and couches.  While she did enjoy the wine and was impressed with the host’s knowledge of his inventory, she did not seem overly content watching me relaxing and smoking a cigar.  But the place does book jazz acts on weekends, so — who knows?

 

I guess can always suck it up and go to a fern bar and watch her drink wine.  If nothing else, that   should give me leeway to sneak off for an occasional solo smoke in a soft leather chair.  And it occurs to me that I now have a place to show Berg, should he ever decide to come out from Minnesota to coffee.  He’s done that before.  

 

— Margadant

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 18, 2011 6:47 pm

    I’m due for a trip out west, but the other cigar smoker is in town for a few days. Maybe later.

Leave a Reply

