Skip to content

Fascinating Things at the Office

June 28, 2011

Yesterday I had a client come in with some items of personal property that needed to be valued in his father’s estate.  What he laid on my desk took my breath away.  I got to heft and hold them, take some pictures, and learn some history.

Item I:

 

And Item II:

 

A bundle of old papers was then produced and I learned the provenance of these medals.  Given to early Lakota chiefs the medals had been handed down in the families.  According to a statement dated 1911, written in pencil by a survivor of the Wounded Knee Massacre, the Polk Peace Medal was there on that field.  So much for the “Peace & Friendship” sentiment.

— Margadant

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

