Skip to content

SB XLV

February 7, 2011

I watched the Super Bowl, or at least, most of it.  At 7:55 p.m. I switched the channel.  There is no good reason why any football game shouldn’t be finished in under three hours.  And the much vaunted commercials were not sufficiently entertaining to enable me to see this sporting contest to its end.

My passion for American football started to die when the two leagues merged into “the NFL.”   When the Super Bowl would come round, I would turn out to support the NFC team in the battle against its AFC foe.  But my desire to watch any games hit the skids when officials’ time-outs were introduced in order to provide more commercial breaks in the broadcast.

I decided to tough out this Super Bowl out of a sense of history — in honor of Ray Nitschke, Jerry Kramer, Paul Hornung, Bart Starr, and the gang that had entertained me back in younger days.  Shall we say, this Pack didn’t live up to their legends.  It was fairly obvious that the Pack could win SB XLV, provided their receivers started to catch the ball.  But it looked as if they’d gotten ahold of an old “bet the farm on the defense” Viking’s play-book and were determined to make it close, so I decided to check out.  Later I found out the Pack had managed to persevere.

So,”Good on ya,” as the saying goes.

As for the future, I am resolved that I will profess to support the NFC team in Super Bowls, especially if the team happens to be one of the old Central Division bunch, but whether I actually watch the game — well, it would have to feature the Vikes or the Detroit Lions.  I’m not rash enough to ignore clear signs of the Apocalypse.

JM

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 5:05 pm

    At least you are not being curmudgeonly about it. I picked it up at the end of the first half and then again in the fourth quarter. But I had Lorna B. hollering scores to me, exhorting me to “Come in here and see this”. It must be an age thing.

Leave a Reply

