Skip to content

Cold Sweat Reminicences

January 21, 2011

I got hold of Westrum today to let him know that this morning’s paper had an article in the sports section announcing that the University of Sioux Falls was joining the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference, a genuine NCAA Division II athletic conference.  Henceforth USF will be banging with Augustana, Minnesota State-Mankato, Southwestern Minnesota State, Wayne State, and Upper Iowa.  I speculated that too many national Division III football championships had led the Old Coo to this brash step.

Wesrum promptly corrected me, advising that the old college had been NAIA and, could I “imagine what Div 2 athletes are like?” 

That got me to remembering.  And unfortunately, I could indeed imagine what they were like.   After Westrum had graduated and gone off to Vermont to teach, leaving me to my own devices, I was given the chance to wrestle the Division 2 190 lb. National Champ at a tourney up at Northern State.  Later that year,  I also renewed acquaintances with a full-ride 160 lb. U of M wrestler that had lived on the same floor of my dorm.  He had fallen on hard times injury-wise, been cut, and had gone down to LaMars to get his degree.  Unfortunately, Curt had moved up to 190 lb. and we met in the final duel of our senior year.

Each of these experiences gave definition to the phrase, “a sinner in the hands of an angry God.”  Interesting and painful, I’d pass on having to ever repeat them.

JM

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2011 8:47 am

    We have all sinned.

  2. dex permalink
    February 10, 2011 12:03 pm

    You didn’t tell them how you won your first–and only?–college match.

Leave a Reply

