Skip to content

New Resident at Helmer Myre State Park

November 10, 2010

Berg sent along the following clipping from the Albert Lea Tribune —

Cougar spotted at state park

Published 4:29pm Monday, November 8, 2010

Warren H. Lenz, Sr., of Albert Lea, was riding his bicycle Monday in Helmer Myre State Park when he spotted a cougar around 3 p.m.  Lenz pulled his bike over to get a better look at what he thought was a deer, but when the large animal dashed away, he saw its tail and knew it was a cougar.

I sent my congratulations, then remembered a PBS promo I saw Sunday night for an upcoming program on wolverines.  It had some riveting up-close footage of a wolverine in full dudgeon.  At the time, I recalled thinking that if I ran across a mountain lion in the wild I would wonder whether it might decide to attack me.  But if I happened upon that wolverine, there would be no wondering.  I knew it was going to rip my face off.

— Margadant

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2010 8:29 am

    Yeah, and Warren Lenz is about 75, easy prey for a cougar. And it seems the preponderance of cougar attacks are joggers and bicyclists. I suspect it’s movement. Riding a bike in front of a cougar is like rolling a ball in front of a house cat. They have no choice; they are programmed to strike at movement. Maybe Warren is lucky he’s old and slow.

  2. November 10, 2010 8:39 am

    “… in full dudgeon”. I like that. Better than the standard “in high dudgeon”. I wonder whatthehell dudgeon really is. I’ll have to look that one up sometime.

Leave a Reply

