Skip to content

Life lessons from the computer front

August 16, 2010

After hauling the garbage and recyclables over the creek to the next street for pick-up tomorrow I sat down with the cursed computer and called the server IT desk.  I was in a rage — I had carefully rehearsed a host of sarcastic, profane comments and demands.

After half an hour of tinny music and recorded messages urging me to buy even more cable crap a young lady came on-line.  Courteous to a fault, she patiently walked me through the maze, found the errant password, and, Vola!  I’m back getting emails from Gunnar and sundry others.  I didn’t even get a chance to get any of my abusive vitriol out of my mouth. 

BKM keeps telling me, “settle down, just behave yourself.”  I just hate it when my wife is right.

— JM

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gunnar Berg permalink
    August 17, 2010 4:35 pm

    Good man. Along a similar vein, I joined AARP to rack a nice discount on my vacation lodging. I carefully opted for no computer updates, etc. Phffft. I got one a day from various divisions of the organization. I always carefully checked the unsubscribe box. I finally went to their site and left a carefully worded message using harsh, even crude words, but never slipping to the obscene. I told them they should be getting their best IT man working on it, because it was obviously a deeply embedded virus, as no company would intentionally treat their paying customers that way. I received an email response the next day from “Randall”, probably a pseudonym for Ranjii from Calcutta. Anyway it felt cleansing and at least for now the daily sales pitches have stopped.

Leave a Reply

