Skip to content

Cheryl Bernard

February 19, 2010

Running pillar to post has been pretty much the norm for the last week, so it was nice to get home about 9:30 p.m.,  put my feet up, and relax in front of the tube.  Much later I woke up from a nap and was just getting ready to turn the TV off  when I noticed womens’ curling was being broadcast. 

Having a passing familiarity with the game (my sister lives in Mapleton, MN, and has taken us to see their ice) I settled back to check out the Canada vs. Germany match.  By the time 3:00 a.m. rolled around I had become an avid fan of Canada’s skip, Cheryl Bernard. 

Frankly, I did not suspect that any sport requiring granite rocks could be played with that much finesse.  Bernard’s accuracy was amazing.  And although I was smitten with her, I had to concede that Germany’s Andrea Schopp wasn’t any slouch in throwing the rock either.  But in the end, it was Bernard that brought it home in the extra-end.

If NBC would have had the foresight to put this match on in prime time, Cheryl Bernad would have caused the  market for green granite to go through the roof and Bonspiels would have broken out all over America.

— Margadant

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gunnar Berg permalink
    February 19, 2010 1:52 pm

    I think the curlers are hot in their cute sweat suits. Hot in an attractive sort of way. As in, “That Canuck skip is really hot.”

    Interesting game, like shuffleboard on ice, except with a casual beer and bowling attitude thrown in.

Leave a Reply

