Skip to content

Of Voodoo and Juju

January 18, 2010

I have been a Vikings fan for 49 years.  I suffered through 4 miserable Super Bowl parties; commiserated with my late father-in-law about the havoc wrought by the Herschel Walker trade; faithfully raised two sons as Vikings blood-fans; and sat with them watching in stunned disbelief as Gary Anderson missed the field goal in the NFL championship game against Atlanta.  Thin times indeed.  But, I cannot bring myself to heed Garrison Keillor’s admonition that the Vikes will somehow, someway, yet again find a way to break out hearts.

So, in solidarity, last night I gave into an impulse I have resisted all these years and went on-line and purchased an Alan Page 1975 Throwback Jersey to wear next Sunday.  BKM stared at me in a very disturbing way and has been coldly silent; the oldest son thinks it’s a great gesture; and Lee is too far out of cell phone range to lend any support.

I await the judgment of the gods.

— Margadant

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 7:49 pm

    BKM is right. Do you think you fell for Alan’s intellectual judge image? Or the charming lisp. Or his speech at his Hall of Fame induction (where he never even mentioned football).

    Before I give you too much shit I must admit that three of us are having custom McLean bicycle jerseys made.

    Or that I have a print of Eddy Merckx on my wall and I have considered buying a full set of the Molteni Arcore bicycle racing clothes because that’s what Eddy Merckx wore. And I’ve even considered the whole set which includes cap, jersey, pants, socks… and jacket. (They make different sets for different years.) But for Christ sake, he won 525 races!

  2. January 19, 2010 12:07 pm

    I think Merckx may have had more then 123.

  3. Jana Margadant permalink
    January 19, 2010 6:01 pm

    I am in full support of the Page jersey, however, it’s the Vikings don’t get your hopes up too high. You forgot to mention you raised a daughter who is a Vikings fan as well, and in all the years I have spent watching Lee tear off his Chris Carter jersey, after yet another loss. I have learned to love the Vikings, but don’t let them fool you, they will CRUSH you in the end!

  4. Dex permalink
    January 20, 2010 1:52 pm

    Favre will throw an interception that will decide the game. If they do get to the Super Bowl, he will throw it there. I don’t think they can beat the Saints; I don’t think the Saints can beat the Colts. Here, we’re looking forwrd to the Pro Bowl so we can watch three Packers play.

Leave a Reply

