Skip to content

To-Do Lists

November 2, 2009

The weather has swung back to those nice fall days we were convinced the early snows had chased away.  The weekend was spectacular and in order to force myself not to run off pheasant hunting, scouting for the prairie deer season, drinking coffee, and/or engaging in some other worthwhile, enriching enterprise, I made a “to-do list.” 

I jotted down the outdoor chores that BKM had been pointedly hinting at for so many weekends.  “Bring in patio furniture,” “take-down swing,” “paint trim around new door,” “stack picnic table/benches,” etc.  And, after Saturday morning coffee with BKM, she took off to take the daughter shopping while I commenced working on the list.  I made diligent progress, and by 3:00 p.m. when BKM returned, I had all the furniture stacked and stored, the lawn mowed and leaves mulched, the garage door fixed, gone to Taco John’s for lunch, and was finishing painting the trim.  I was on such a roll that after finishing the trim I descended into the basement and started varnishing  the chest I was finishing for my daughter’s birthday last month. 

Proud of  my progress I came upstairs to the kitchen and allowed to  BKM that I ought to make a to-do list every weekend because I’d gotten so much done.  She just sort of stared at me and said, “Yeah.  That way you could help me.”

I immediately saw the down side to these to-do lists; the damn things never work or gain you any merit unless the boss is involved in putting the list together.  The prophet is never honored in his own country; I could have gotten the same reaction if I’d gone scouting for mule deer.

— Margadant

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2009 5:52 pm

    Chrissake, quit complaining. The woman is a saint and we both know it.

  2. November 7, 2009 11:43 am

    i’m working on my to-do list right now. there’s always something to do, isn’t there. just took a break though to play wii bowling.

    back to work!

Leave a Reply

